HALL OF FAME

ugene H. Rooney, Jr. served as state human resources administrator in Massachusetts. He was well-respected for his role as a reformer and innovator and, most importantly, valuing individuals and their commitment to public service. He served in several roles during his 21-year public service career.

va Santos was appointed HR Director of the State of Washington in 2005 by Gov. Christine Gregoire and served in the position until her death in December 2012. She was a leader and innovator in state human resources and understood the important role of communication in effective HR leadership. As NASPE Awards Committee Chair, she established the Communication Award to recognize outstanding achievement in state HR communication.

scar B. Jackson, Jr. was appointed Administrator of the Oklahoma Office of Personnel Management by Gov. David Walters in 1991. Jackson served in this capacity and later also as Secretary of Human Resources and Administration until his retirement in 2011. Jackson was the ultimate ambassador to NASPE members, frequently reaching out to new appointees and to long-time members to welcome them and offer encouragement. He truly reflected the spirit of NASPE.

NASPES AWARDS

Luncheon

Recognizing great accomplishments in state human resource management, this prestigious program includes the Eugene H. Rooney, Jr. Program and Leadership Awards as well as the Eva N. Santos Communications Award and the Oscar B. Jackson, Jr. President's Award.

July 17, 2018 Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, SD



COMMITTEE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

2017-18 Executive Committee

President

Joyce Oreskovich, Maine

President-Elect

Byron Decoteau, Louisiana

Secretary/Treasurer and Host State Chair

Laurie Gill, South Dakota

Immediate Past President

Rebecca Hunter, Tennessee

At-Large

Susan Buxton, Idaho Matt Fedorchuk, Michigan Justin Najaka, New Mexico Franklin Plaistowe, Washington Kate Sheehan, Alaska Tom Stephens, Kentucky

2018 Awards Committee

Chair - Justin Najaka, New Mexico

Matt Brown, Pennsylvania Alice Ann Byrne, Alabama Jen Dowd, Kronos Beth Fastiggi, Vermont Nancy Sutch, Alaska

2018 Corporate Council Co-Chairs

Heather Sherlock, Sr. Principal Infor Public Sector

Jen Dowd, Industry Consultant, Public Sector Kronos

RECOGNITION

Opening Remarks

The Honorable Matt Michels, Lieutenant Governor, South Dakota

Executive Committee Recognition

2017-2018 Executive Committee 2018-2019 Executive Committee

Host State Recognition

South Dakota Bureau of Human Resources

The NASPEs Awards

Eva N. Santos Communication Award

presented to

Arizona Human Resources Division

for the

Applying Multilayer Communication Strategies to Statewide Employee Engagement Planning

Advancing the HR Profession Award

presented to

Florida Human Resource Management

for the

Communities of Interest Program

Eugene H. Rooney, Jr. Innovative State Human Resource Management Program Award

presented to

Tennessee Department of Human Resources

for the

Management and Leadership Learning Pyramid

Eugene H. Rooney, Jr. Leadership in State Human Resource Management Award

is presented to

Joyce Oreskovich, Director, Maine Bureau of Human Resources

Oscar B. Jackson, Jr. President's Award

will be annouced at luncheon