Print Email

The National Association of State Personnel Executives (NASPE) was established in 1977 to enhance communication and exchange of information among state government personnel executives across the country.

  • MISSION:  NASPE provides a collaborative forum for State HR leaders to share effective leading practices.
  • VISION:  To be the authority on leading HR practices and strategies focused on developing an effective State workforce.

NASPE provides educational resources for its members and a forum to share best practices in state human resource management through meetings, publications, surveys, and online discussion forums.

State membership is comprised of the chief human resource management/personnel executive and his/her chief deputy or designee from each of the United States, the Territories of Guam, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia.

Corporate membership is comprised of organizations providing HR products and services to state government.

The association is led by a 10-member Executive Committee which meets month via teleconference and in person at the association’s Mid-Year and Annual Conferences. The association’s corporate members are represented by the Corporate Membership Council. Association staff is based at association headquarters in Lexington, KY.

NASPE is an affiliate organization of The Council of State Governments.

2017-18 Executive Committee


Joyce Oreskovich


Byron Decoteau, LA

Secretary/ Treasurer

Laurie Gill, SD

 Immediate Past President

Rebecca Hunter, TN


Franklin Plaistowe, WA


Susan Buxton, Idaho


Debbie Cragun, UT


Matt Fedorchuk


Justin Najaka, NM

  Kate Sheehan, AK

Corporate Membership Council Co-Chair

Joe Roche
Cornerstone on Demand

Corporate Membership Council Co-Chair

Heather Sherlock

Staff Executive Director

Leslie Scott

Marketing & Membership Coordinator

Amy Maddox